Grumpy Nerds

I didn’t want to discuss Spider-Man being a part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe until the part had been cast, but my plans never go my way. I had planned to write about Birdman, but snow got in the way. I was going to try again this week, but life got in the way. They say that blogging is all about content, so I guess I have to say something. Never mind the fact the less I post, the more hits I get. If I never write anything, I will have the most popular blog ever. The only thing I am good at it sabotaging my success, so here goes.

Now that we are getting yet another Spider-Man reboot, this time hopefully without the origin story, it seems that everyone has an opinion and they are expressing it en masse. I have been expecting picketers outside Columbia/Sony Pictures with signs, or pitchforks, chanting:

“What do we want!?”

“Spider-Man!”

“Who is Spider-Man!?”

“Miles Morales!”

“Who is the only person who can play him!?”

“Donald Glover!”

Yeah, Millennials.

I don’t have anything against Donald Glover or Miles Morales. I also have nothing against a woman playing the part of the Doctor, or Idris Elba being the next James Bond. My problem is the way that some people are going about it as if they are marching on Selma, or storming the Bastille. It’s almost like this has become a civil rights issue or something. Maybe it is. But are we that far removed from the events in Ferguson, Missouri that we can turn our collective voices to Hollywood and make a casting choice into a referendum? I’m not trying to be flippant, and I am not trolling. I don’t like trolls.

I can see the point of having a Miles Morales version of Spidey, despite the fact that most people think Miles Morales is either the kid that J.K. Simmons flung a chair at in Whiplash, or shortstop for the L.A. Dodgers. Yes, we need more diversity in comic book movies, and in films in general. I had zero problem when Idris Elba was cast as Heimdale in the Thor films. The same goes for Michael Clarke Duncan as the Kingpin in the Daredevil movie. I also feel that at some point the Miles Morales version of the Webslinger should be on theatre screens. The same goes for a female Thor, or Terry McGinnis as Batman; it’s all a matter of timing.

I’m not saying that the audience needs time to come to terms with someone else as the Wallcrawler, I’m saying that Marvel’s plans for the character needs be served. I have no idea what Kevin Feige and the Marvel Studios braintrust have planned, but I know in my gut that it will be interesting, based on their track record thus far. If the decision is to go with Morales–great. If it’s Parker, let’s not get our collective Underoos in a bunch.

Yes, I do know that Hollywood still has a problem when it comes to casting minorities. Even in the 21st Century, they continue to “Whitewash” films like Exodus: Gods and Kings. And who thought it was a good idea to cast Johnny Depp as Tonto? If Marvel/Sony goes with Parker, it’s not Whitewashing, since Parker is Caucasian. If they Whitewash Morales… I will join the protests.

Leave a comment