Star Wars: Rebels “Spark of Rebellion” part 2

When I started writing about “Spark of Rebellion,” I didn’t know that I would split the discussion into two parts, even though it’s a two part episode. That should have been my first clue, but I’m not very perceptive. Forgive me if stuff from part one finds its way into this post, for I have no idea where it’s going.

There is a running theme in various Star Wars media, whereby the Force is strong in a young person, and they have to learn how to use it. They have a particular set of skills, but have no idea that the reason for this is due to midi-chlorians. Yeah, I do kind of hate myself for typing that sentence.

The Force is strong in Ezra, and Kanan spots it right off the bat. Kanan is a former padawan, whose training was cut short. Ezra finds Kanan’s holocron, and in a quiet moment, it opens. Imagine Ezra’s surprise when he sees a holovid of a man warning the Jedi to stay away from Coruscant. If you have read A New Dawn, you know who gave Obi-Wan Kenobi the idea to use the holocron in this manner. I love this scene in Rebels, but it gives chills just thinking about it.

In part one, crew of the Ghost stole a bunch of crates from the Empire, one of which contained weapons. They sold the crate to a guy called Vizago. He’s also the guy they go to for information, because fences know stuff. I learned that from watching 1970s detective shows. Can Vizago be trusted? Probably not. But he did give them intel on a prison ship full of Wookiees.

Of course it was a trap. Although I am not sure Vizago knew that. Ezra was captured by Agent Kallus of the Imperial Security Bureau (you gotta love Star Wars and their on the nose character names). Speaking of the ISB, am I the only one who hopes that Alecia Beck shows up one day? Bonus points if we find out how she lost the eye.

Ezra’s new friends rescue him, but not before he finds out that the Wookiees are being taken to the spice mines of Kessel. That ain’t good. Rebels being a new series, it’s important that connections are made to the films, and especially to the popular characters and species. That is all well and good–as long as it works. It worked.

The reason it worked is because it made sense for the story, and wasn’t just shoehorned in for effect. To make matters worse for me, I have read Lost Stars. In that novel, a character posits that the Empire must be using brutal amounts of violence if they have managed to enslave Wookiees. I hate to end on a down note, but I am more of a Dante than a Randal. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

