James Bond (The Daniel Craig Era)

SPECTRE arrives in US theatres in a few weeks, and I thought I would kill time by looking back at the recent James Bond films starring Daniel Craig. I will start with this brief piece, then get into the movies next week. Well… That’s the plan.

I can admit when I’m wrong. I wasn’t wrong, I just didn’t back the winning candidate. In 2005, I was waiting for the white smoke to arise from the 007 Stage at Pinewood Studios in London that signifies that a new James Bond has been cast. My choice was Clive Owen, because I think he’s an excellent actor, and that he would fit the role. I wasn’t disappointed when Daniel Craig’s name was announced, nor was I shocked. He too is a great actor; I just didn’t know how great at the time.

I have to admit that part of the reason I chose Owen over Craig had to do with my fragile ego. I wasn’t prepared at the time for James Bond to be younger than me. My being thirty-seven(!) days older than Craig is really no big deal, but it still makes me his senior. Okay, okay, it’s actually thirty-eight days, because 1968 was a Leap Year. For arguements sake, let’s call it thirty-seven and one fourth days and let it go.

One thing that got quite a few peoples knickers in a twist was that Daniel Craig has blonde hair. All the previous actors who portrayed Bond on screen had dark hair, because that is how Ian Fleming described him in the novels. If you have read the novels, you know that many changes were made for the film series; often for the better. Don’t get me started discussing the books, especially Live and Let Die. Or Fleming’s thoughts on homosexuality in Goldfinger.

Another characteristic of James Bond is that he is over six feet tall. Daniel Craig is 5’10” if you believe the Internet; but size doesn’t matter. (Ahem) If I had known this a decade ago, I would have thrown my hat into the ring. Or my hat onto the hat rack, as Bond often did in the Sixties. I’m 5′ 10″ if you believe the results of my last physical and I have dark hair. As an extra added bonus, I have a facial scar, which is also something Fleming mentioned about Bond in the novels. I’m saying I should have been Bond, but it’s probably for the best I wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

