Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation

There are those who say that Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation is the best film in the series, and I cannot argue with them. You could choose any of the Mission: Impossible movies, barring M:I-2, as your favorite, and you would be correct. I love the M:I films, and look forward to each installment.

I think Rogue Nation has the best stunt/action scenes of the M:I series, which is saying a lot. It’s hard to top the Pentagon break in from the first film in terms of pure tension, but there are a couple of scenes in Rogue Nation that come close.

The sense of humor from Ghost Protocol is still apparent in Rogue Nation. Thankfully. Simon Pegg’s character, Benji Dunn, is there to provide a tad of comic relief. He is not a joke machine; all his quips are character based and keep the film from taking itself too seriously.

Jeremy Renner returns as William Brant. I really like Renner in M:I films, since he gets to show not only his action chops, but his comedy chops as well. Until I saw Ghost Protocol, I never knew he was so funny. Brandt is also the character usually gets stuck with lines like “So, what you’re saying is…” but he pulls it off flawlessly.
I am going to save spoilers for a future post, so no need to worry. Also, I am not going to say a lot about the plot of the movie, except to say that there is a bad guy who wants something, and the Impossibe Missions Force is trying to stop him from getting it. It’s pretty much your bog standard Mission: Impossible plot, but I. Don’t. Care. When the movies are this well made, it really doesn’t matter.

The bad guy in Rogue Nation is Solomon Lane, played to creepy perfection by Sean Harris. Every baddie needs a henchman, and Lane has “The Bone Doctor” (Jens Hulten). Yeah, he sounds a bit like someone from an old Bond movie, but just go with it, because it works.

The breakout star of Rogue Nation is Rebecca Ferguson, who plays Ilsa Faust.
In a film series that features a number of kick ass women, Ferguson kicks the most ass. Or should I say, the script allows her to kick more ass than other women who have appeared in the M:I franchise.

Faust’s loyalties change, or seemingly change, from scene to scene. So much so, I am not sure she even knows whose side she’s on. In a lesser movie, this would get tiresome quickly. Writer/director Christopher McQuarrie is no stranger to twists and turns, having written The Usual Suspects. This is the fourth time McQuarrie has written or co-written a Tom Cruise film. The other three are Valkyrie, Edge of Tomorrow, and Jack Reacher; the last of which, McQuarrie also directed. Those three films are all underrated, which is something you cannot say about Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation. I think it would be impossible to rate it highly enough.
Yeah, that was corny.

Leave a Reply

