X-Men: Days of Future Past (The Rogue Cut)

Has a great film ever been made better by an extended or director’s cut? Blade Runner, maybe? Terminator 2, possibly? So much time has passed and so many versions of those films released that I can’t keep them straight. Chris Hardwick should host a game show called “Name That Version,” in which contestants have to name which version of a movie a clip is from.

I want a producer credit when it happens.

More recently, I liked the “Little Infinities Edition” of The Fault in Our Stars. When the release was announced, my friend asked, “Will it be the ‘Extra Crying’ edition?” I won’t say if she was correct in her assumption, but I will say that it included my favorite joke from the book, that was somehow left out of the theatrical cut.

Speaking of “extra” editions, I still haven’t seen the “Extra Walking” versions of The Lord of the Rings, and Hobbit trilogies. If the were the “Extra Walken” editions, I would have camped out at Best Buy weeks in advance.

This week saw the release of X-Men: Days of Future Past (The Rogue Cut). I wish that 20th Century Fox would have put this version out last year instead of double dipping the fans. That’s not very nice. At least with The Wolverine, Fox put out both versions at the same time in what was called the “Unleashed Extended Edition.”

Is the Rogue Cut better that the theatrical version of Days of Future Past? Not to sound like a politician, but it all depends on your definition of better. I absolutely loved DoFP; so much so that I thought it was the best comic book movie of 2014, and one of the best movies of the year, period. Someone on Facebook said that after five minutes, they thought that the Rogue Cut was entirely a different movie. This person also prefers First Class to any version of DoFP, so make of that what you will. I also love First Class, but I won’t go into it here.

It’s no spoiler to say that in the Rogue Cut, Professor Xavier, (Patrick Stewart) Magneto, (Ian McKellen) and Ice Man (Shawn Ashmore) go on a mission to rescue Rogue, (Anna Paquin) because reasons. If you have seen the theatrical version, you know what those reasons are.

The thing is, the mission doesn’t take place when I thought it would in the narrative. The new footage (Can we still use that term in the digital age?) is intercut with a scene from the theatrical version. I know that I am giving you nothing to work with, but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.

There is more to the Rogue Cut than just Rogue. Once again, no spoilers. There is a little bit more at the Maximoff residence. Another “F bomb” is dropped. A few scenes have been slightly altered. None of the deleted scenes from the original blu-ray release have been put back in, but those of you who saw them with the Bryan Singer commentary track know this already. However, the scene that comes right after “The Kitchen Scene” is in the Rogue Cut, but it is edited in such a way that “The Kitchen Scene” wasn’t needed. And by “Kitchen Scene,” I am not talking about the one with Quicksilver (Evan Peters).

I hope I cleared that up for you. I may come back later and discuss the Rogue Cut in more detail once I have gone through the special features.

What’s my verdict? If you are a hardcore X-Men fan, you are probably going to watch The Rogue Cut no matter what I say; you have probably already seen it. If you loved Days of Future Past–give it a shot. If haven’t seen Days of Future Past–give it a shot. And if you haven’t seen First Class–watch it first. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

