Star Wars Expanded Universe

In 1983 I was under the impression that George Lucas was planning on a trilogy of Star Wars trilogies. If I had known that it would be sixteen years before The Phantom Menace would hit the cinema screens, and that the prequels would be a disappointment, I would have moved on with my life.

Nah. Probably not.

After The Return of the Jedi, there wasn’t a whole lot going on with Star Wars. There were the Marvel comics, and two animated TV series: Droids, and Ewoks, but I felt that I was a bit too old for any of that.

In the early Nineties, a new Star Wars novel was released. Written by Timothy Zahn, Heir to the Empire was the first book in what became known as “The Thrawn Trilogy.” After the destruction of the second Death Star and the dissolution of the Empire, Grand Admiral Thrawn plans an attack on the New Republic, and hilarity ensues. Not really. I haven’t read the books, but I hear they are excellent.

A lot of Star Wars fans loved the novels, video games, etc., that comprised the Expanded Universe. I played a few of the games, but I wasn’t any good at most of them. Then again, I wasn’t very good at most video games. I was pretty good at reading, but…

It wasn’t that I didn’t love Star Wars anymore, or worse, that I had outgrown it. It was that I really wasn’t all that interested. I guess, for me, Star Wars ended with Return of the Jedi; and I was good with that.

Not everyone shared my opinion. By the time The Phantom Menace rolled around, just having watched the films no longer made you a “true” Star Wars fan. You had to know the name of every single character that appeared on film or in a novel or game. Also, you had to know their species and planet of origin.

I didn’t know there was going to be a test.
I felt a bit… Inadequate? Insecure? Both? It felt like my fandom was being called into question. Over time, I realized that I didn’t care. I wrote about this in a post called “Art Appreciation and Fake Geekery,” Click on the tag “art” down below and you should be able to find it. It’s the one with all the punctuation errors, if that helps.

Now that Disney, a.k.a. “The Evil Empire,” has taken control of Star Wars, most of the Expanded Universe is not considered canon. Not that it ever was. Seriously. But try telling that to someone dressed as Mara Jade at Comic Con.

Wait… Bad example.

Some geek guys are just no good at talking to women. Talking at them? Yes. But that’s another discussion. Then there are the shy guys. But anyway…

Take two: Try telling that to some dude cosplaying Xizor at Comic Con.

Better yet: Avoid him altogether.

Leave a Reply

