Leftovers 2014

I got some stuff lying around, collecting dust. Most of them are half baked ideas that were abandoned, or never got past the “Hmm…” stage. Others were too short for their own post, yet longer than a tweet. So, I decided to lump some of them togther in a post, and what the result may or may not make more sense than the usual crap. I have no idea, since I am making this up on the fly.

As a kid, I always looked forward to Christmas commercials. Coca-Cola and Budweiser had some memorable ones, and the Norelco razor ad is legendary. Lately, the ones I like are for Publix supermarkets.

There are a plethora of ads for jewlery stores, and they will stick around until Valentine’s Day, and return in time for Mother’s Day. I like the ones for Kay, and Zale’s. They are usually sweet, and somtimes cute; like the one with the penguins. I love penguins. The ones I bloody hate are the ones for Jared; they make want to go all Elvis on my TV. The reason I hate them so much is because they make women appear shallow and materialistic. Maybe it’s just me.

A lot of film related websites and YouTube channels are making “Best of” lists, because it’s that time of year. I saw a lot of great films this year, but I am not about to rank them. I have gone over my feelings about lists before, so I won’t repeat myself. I will give a few thoughts though.

The biggest surprise? I guess it would be the Lego Movie. I thought it would be lame, but it turned out to be the second funniest film I saw this year. The funniest was Guardians of the Galaxy, which wasn’t a surprise, as much as a film that exceeded everyone’s expectations. Yes, it was a risk for Marvel, but I think it was a calculated one. And you can add Edge of Tomorrow to the list of nice surprises.

Remember when Eddie Murphy made funny movies? The last one I can think of is Bowfinger, which is criminally underrated. I also like The Golden Child, but I haven’t seen it since it was in theatres back in 1986, so I have no idea if it holds up.

Remember when Tim Burton made great movies? I haven’t seen Big Eyes, so I can’t comment on it. On a recent Schmoes Know video, they were discussing Burton’s best and worst films. That’s a easy one. The best is Ed Wood, and the worst is Batman Returns.

Another subject a lot of film sites are covering is the most anticipated films of 2015. You mean other than Star Wars: The Force Awakens? At the moment, I will go with Mission: Impossible 5. I thought Ghost Protocol was the best in the series, and that is saying something, considering how much I liked Mission: Impossible III. I never thought I would see the day that I was looking forward to a Mission: Impossible film more than a James Bond film. Has it really come to this?

Leave a Reply

