So… Is Krypton the Prequel to Smallville?

Almost fifteen months ago, I asked the question: “Is Gotham the best bad idea Warner Bros. could think of?” With hindsight comes clarity, and if I had to do it all over again, I would make one major change to that post. What would that change be? I would change the part where I called Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. a “… Great new TV series.” In my defense, I had only watched one episode.

Gotham is taking a mid-season break, and so far I think it’s pretty good. It was recently picked up for a full season, so it must be doing well. I wish that Gotham would have the same number of episodes per season as The Following, which I think is fifteen. I like that idea, and more series should follow that template. But that’s another story.

I don’t know if it’s coincidence or a full blown pattern, but the first seasons of many Fox series have a similar plot development, that quite frankly, gets on my nerves. There was always someone in power trying to stop Mulder and Scully investigation into the X-Files, and a few times they succeded… For a little while. Chi McBride’s character on House was a hospital board member who wanted to shut down the Department of Diagnostic Medicine. And then there was Fringe. The mid-season finale of Gotham saw Detective Jim Gordon transfered from Gotham P.D. to Arkham Asylum. The big difference with Gordon is we know that at some point he becomes Comissioner of Police. I guess it’s all about the journey.

I say that to say this: What exactly is the plot of Krypton? Or, should I say point? According to reports, the story will revolve around Jor-El’s father and whatever it was he was doing prior to the events that caused Krypton to go boom.

Am I the only one that thinks this sounds a bit familiar? I am thinking about Caprica, which was the prequel to Battlestar Galactica. I never watched Caprica, because at the time, I hadn’t seen BSG. It’s a long story about a crappy cable company dropping SyFy, which at the time was still called SciFi, not long after the BSG miniseries aired, which I saw, and bringing it back just prior to the premier of Caprica. Blurgh.

From what I have read online, (I really shoud know better) Caprica was either a sci-fi soap opera, or a soap opera set in the world of science fiction. Either way, it never really found an audience. Some say it failed due to fan response to the Battlestar Galactica finale. Another theory is that SyFy botched the promotion and scheduling. Maybe it was a bit of both.

One thing I am not a fan of is splitting a season into multiple parts. I understand the thinking of doing it with series that starts in the fall, and have twenty-two or more episodes, but not when you have less than that. I hated when Doctor Who did it, and I am barely putting up with it when it comes to The Walking Dead.

Don’t get me started on Mad Men.

I guess it all comes down to the question I asked in the headline. Smallville was basically “Superman Begins,” and it lasted ten seasons, and everyone knew how it was going to end. Krypton could work, but can the show make us care. And more importantly: Can it make us tune in?

Leave a Reply

