Hollywood is Full of Hacks part 3: Reading Dirty

I got so upset in my last post, that I lost the ability to count. So the final post, more on that in a bit, is labeled part 3. Yeah, I suck.

This may not actually be the final installment in the series. (Please refer to the last sentence in the previous paragraph.) Apparently, those responsible for the Sony hack are planning a “Christmas surprise.” I don’t know what it could be, but fingers crossed, I will find a Sony Vaio laptop with a built in blu-ray player under the tree. Mainly because that would mean that they also brought a tree.

Yep, still sucking.

Maybe they should bring me a childrens guide to counting. That would probably be helpful.

Part of me feels more than a bit wrong for reading the Sony emails. I know, I know–all the cool kids are doing it. But does that make it right? Just because it’s on the Internet, it doesn’t mean I have to click on it. You know, like the comments button. That’s like the Mos Eisley cantina of the Internet.

It wasn’t that long ago that many of the same websites that posted the hacked emails, or links to them, were chastising those who posted pictures stolen in the so-called “Fappening.” Worst. Scandal name. Ever. At least it wasn’t “Fapgate.”

I swear, if I ever get ahold of a time machine, I’m going back to the early Seventies and telling the Democrats to stay at the Hilton.

I will give some people a lot of credit. When the celebrity nudes hit the web, they didn’t blame the victims. I hate this “blame the victim” mentality that so many people have. It’s one of the few things I learned about in school, along with forgery, and a few other felonious crimes. Oh, and how to take a test.

To be fair, I am not the only one to think that there is something a bit wrong about perusing someone elses emails. In researching this piece, (Yeah I do research . . . Sometimes) I found a Chicago Tribune article that expressed similar reservations, and asked some of the same questions. The answer the Trib writer came up with was, “… If the Sony hack was ‘wrong,’ the leak of celebrity nudes was more wrong.” I will give the writer credit, they went on to say that it “… Seems like a dangerous bit of moral relativism.” Ya think? What I think the writer is trying to say is, “When it comes to hacking, there are Whitehats, Blackhats, and Greyhats.”

Leave a Reply

