U2: A New Frontier

One of the prevailing themes of U2’s lastest album, Songs of Innocence, is defining monents: Finding someone you want to spend the rest of your life with. When a parent dies. Discovering the world is not always a friendly place. Hearing a song that will that changes your life.

U2 have explored these subjects any number of times over the past thirty odd years, yet somehow they have managed to put a different spin on things. With time comes perspective, and with perspective comes learning. At least you hope that you have learned something, otherwise it’s all for nought.

I cannot say if Songs of Innocence represents a defining moment for me. Sometimes you know that nothing will ever be the same again, and sometimes you have to sit and wait for the fallout–good or bad. Only time will tell.

Songs of Innocence does represent a first for me. The first time I listened to it was via MP3. I had planned on waiting for the CD, but things don’t always happen the way I want. I’m not complaining, I’m just trying to wrap my head around it.

Leave a Reply

