“I was here first!”

I started watching a foreign TV series that I won’t name since I am saving that bit of information for a future post. I cannot claim that I “discovered” this particular series since there are others who have watched it. I cannot even claim to be the first American; but I will go out on a limb and say that I am the only person residing at this address to have given it a gander.

It’s lonely out here.

Whenever we are the first in our hood to come across something new we often tend to become rather proprietary. We will tell our friends about it because we love to show off our shiny and new things, but, if our friends are first on the bandwagon, we tend to get a little grumpy and shout to the heavens, “When do I get to see the sailboat!”

Morrissey made a shedload of money off of people like me.

Earlier this year, which is weird to say since it only started getting warm last week and it’s almost July, there was a lot of people on Twitter droning on and on about the Janoskians; whatever the hell they are. If you held a gun to my head my best guess would be that they were an agrarian society from the original Star Trek series.

Anyway, whoever they are, they were apparently on some TV show in America, (not sure) and the British fans were all in a collective hissy fit because the Americans (again, not sure, don’t care) were screaming at them like they were the Beatles circa 1964. There were all these cries of “Bandwagon jumpers!” and “Why are you yelling? You don’t even know who they are!”

It’s no coincedence that Morrissey is British.

I know that Americans can be a bit like that on occasion, but are we that vocal? That extreme? Americans create a ton of TV shows, for better or worse, and we don’t feel like we own them the way the Brits do about Doctor Who. I’d dare say that the afore mentioned Star Trek is right up there in worldwide popularity, but I don’t feel that Star Trek is for “locals only;” I believe it belongs to the world. In fact, the crew of the Enterprise is made up of people from all over the World. Yes, most of the actors on the original series were from North America, but that’s beside the point.

It was the Sixties, they couldn’t be bothered to get an actual Scotsman.

And they still couldn’t today.

But I love Simon Pegg, so all is forgiven.

Americans often have proprietary feelings when it comes to musical artists, but most of the time it is limited to the part to the country they come from. Bruce Springsteen is considered an “American” singer to most of the World, and in a lot of ways he is. But there is a large segment of the American populace that sees him as a “Jersey boy;” and that’s cool, because it’s true. I understand that Liverpudlians feel like the Beatles belong to them, and that is fine by me–I just love listening to their music.

Getting back to the subject of firsts, there is a thing that is guys do that gets on my nerves a bit. Many of you know where I am going with this, so here goes: As Hooper X famously said in Chasing Amy; “Men like to think that they are Marco F***ing Polo when it comes to women.”

But that’s another story for another day.

Leave a Reply

