Netflix Recommendations and Dating Websites

Every now and then Netflix, Amazon, or whatever website, makes a recommendation that actually works out. Yeah, most of them are quite obvious, like when you watch/read part two you might actually like part three, and you yell at the computer, ” Hey, dummy! It’s already in my queue/wishlist!” Then there are those times when they recommend part one and you are all like, “Hey! Aren’t you paying attention!?! I have already saw/read that!”

That pretty much sums up most of my relationships: No one pays attention to me. Then again, no one reads this blog. Basically, what I am saying is that I spend a hell of a lot of time talking to myself. That, and pissing up ropes.

But, every now and again, they get it right. Sometimes you get a recommendation for a book, movie, or TV show that you never heard of. Maybe it’s foreign–literally; maybe it’s on a cable channel you don’t receive, or maybe it just flew in under the radar.

How many times have you checked a famous actor’s IMDB page looking for one thing, only to discover that they made a whole slew of movies that you never heard of? I am the king of searching through the used DVD section looking for deals, and spotting films with A-List actors that bypassed theatres.

Usually, there is a reason for this.

Then there are those films that sit on a shelf for years in a studio somewhere before getting a token release. Or maybe, you stumble across a film on cable that you had no idea existed.

Sometimes I feel that way about myself; not that I am on any sort of A-List, or even D-List for that matter. It’s just like I feel somewhat overlooked. I am sure there is a reason for this, but I am so arrogant and delusional that I overlook my faults. There are other times when all I can see are my faults, and yes, there are many.

So, I started thinking, which is never a good idea, that maybe, just maybe, there are others out there like me: The Overlooked.

To get back to my point, what if dating sites were more like Netflix or Amazon? Yes, I have pointed out that their recommendations aren’t always flawless, but they do have their merits.

There are dating sites that advertise how they use science to figure out who you are compatible with, which is all well and good. The thing is with a lot of of those sites is that they ask you more questions than the SAT, or the CIA, for that matter. But then again, the CIA tends to ask the same questions over and over again like a three year old.

Not that I would know anything about that.

As far as I know, dating sites don’t let you upload pictures and profiles of people you have dated in the past so that you can give a review of what you like and dislike about each of them. If they did, maybe then could detect patterns and show you where you have been going wrong all these years. That would be handy. Also, maybe they could recommend psychological help when necessary.

Like now, for instance.

Leave a Reply

