How I Met Your Mother

I don’t care what anyone says, I like How I Met Your Mother. Yes, it may have started off as a bit of a Friends ripoff, but at the end of the day I think it was a far more consistant series.

Friends was the right show at the right time. It caught the nation’s attention and was one of the great “water cooler” programs of all time. The cast was on the cover of magazines and on T-shirts and coffee mugs. I’m only guessing about the last one.

HIMYM never achieved that level of popularity. It did create catchphrases and a book: Barney Stinson’s “The Bro Code.” It lasted nine seasons without ever being a number one rated show. It was never “hip” or “cool,” and I for one think that is a good thing.

The main problem a lot of people had with HIMYM was that it was on CBS, a.k.a. the network your grandparents watch. Well, so what? Who cares? Had it been on NBC apromomately twelve people would have seen it since no one has watched NBC since the heyday of “Must see TV.” Yeah, there are a few shows that are on the Peacock network that are “popular” and by that I mean the few people who watch them talk about them constantly and loudly. Almost none of them have any sort of appeal to me. I say “almost” because I really liked 30 Rock.

The big trend in comedies seems to be that being clever is far more important than being funny. That’s all well and good if you are one of the eight people who get the joke. It’s not that I don’t love a good obscure reference, my blog is nothing but a collection of them, it’s just that I’m not expected to draw in millions every week, and in turn make millions for a network.

Some people love to pick on shows like How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory by saying they pander to the lowest common denominator. And your point is? If I were one of those paranoid Sarah Palin worshipers I could go off on a rant about the “media elite” or how people on both coasts look down on those in the flyover states, but it would be pointless. There are some people who hate everything that everyone has heard of and those people are called “Hipsters.”

Yes, there are actual criticisms of HIMYM, and every other TV series for that matter, yet some shows only get criticized when it is popular to do so, like when The Simpsons reached ten-thousand episodes or when Steve Carrell left The Office.

A lot of the time the claws aren’t bared until the final episode. Everyone has an idea in their head how the story should end and if the series finale doesn’t meey our lofty expectaions we get all in a huff. The same goes for the third part of a trilogy, but that’s another story.

I enjoyed the finale of How I Met Your Mother. Well… I don’t know if enjoyed is the corrct word. It didn’t suck like the final episodes of so many “better” series. You know which ones I am talking about. Then again the argument could be made that since HIMYM wasn’t great to begin with the bar was rather low.

Thankfully there wasn’t a fade to black or a jail sentence or any of those other things that drove so many of us nuts. Yes, we finally found out how Ted met the mother of his children. And we learned so much more.

SPOILERS FOLLOW

As it turns out in a few years Barney and Robin divorce. I didn’t see that one coming, but like a lot of you I did predict that the mother (Tracy) would die. The truth, as pointed out by Ted’s chidren, is that the past nine seasons were all about Ted and Robin.

Oh, as for the part where Barney and “31” have a child; anyone else get the feling that we’ll be hearing that story sooner rather than later?

How I Met Your Dad: coming soon…

Leave a Reply

