Fred Phelps

Yesterday at lunch my friend informed me that Fred Phelps had died. I said that while I hated everything he stood for I was not going to celebrate his death. Truth is he would want us to celebrate his death because, in a way, it would prove him right. Or, at least that’s how his twisted mind would perceive it.

Full disclosure: as a child I was an idiot. Maybe idiot is too strong a word. Let’s say I had a lot to learn. At the time I thought that the term “Homophobia” was a bit of a misnomer. Then again I also believed in Santa Claus. In my young mind I thought that a more proper term would be “Homo-hatred.”

Then one fateful day I found out exactly how wrong I was. I heard a so called “Man of God” go on an anti Homosexual rant that shook me to my core. I came away realizing that there are some people who are completely afraid of Gays.

Of course Fred Phelps hatred wasn’t limited to Gays. I don’t want to get into it because that would more or less promote his causes. While I think he believed every word he said, I also think he was way more into self promotion, and I cannot go around pointing fingers at self promoters since I would have three fingers pointing back at me. Namely Twitter, Facebook, and Google +.

See what I did there?

If some people want to protest Fred Phelps’ funeral I will understand, but I won’t join in. I will not raise a toast to his passing, nor will I hope that he is rotting in Hell; if such a place exists. I have never commented on anything he has done before, and I hope this is the last time I ever bring his name up.

Leave a Reply

