2014 Oscar Picks

Why am I making Oscar picks? Because all the kids are doing it. But seriously, I have been watching movies and the Oscars pretty much all my life and I have no idea what goes through the mind of the average Academy voter. I don’t want to discuss some of the previous award winners. I’ll save that post for when I run out of comic books… And classic Doctor Who stories.

So, without Freddie Adu, here are my 2014 Oscar picks.

Please feel free to point and laugh.

Original Song: “Let It Go” from “Frozen”. I love U2, but they don’t have a snowball’s chance.

Original Score: It will probably go to “Gravity,” but I really want “Her” to win. “Her” probably won’t win any major awards, due to the fact that it really didn’t get that many noms, as the kids say, so maybe the Academy will throw “Her” a bone.

Sound Editing: Honestly, who the hell knows? I’ll go with “Gravity.”

Sound Mixing: See above.

Visual Effects: “Gravity,” duh. Having said that, how did “The Lone Ranger” get nominated? How many ***** got ****** for that to happen? “Pacific Rim” got ******!!!

Makeup and Hair Styling: The choices are: “Dallas Buyers Club,” “Jackass Presents: Bad Grampa,” and “The Lone Ranger.” I’ll take the first one. By the way, how the holy **** did “American Hustle” get overlooked!?! I guess it was because some of the Academy voters watched the film and thought they were looking into a mirror.

Costume Design: “The Great Gatsby” will win, “American Hustle” should win.

Foreign Language Film: No clue. I’ll go with “The Great Beauty.” Pro Tip: A lot of times the winner of this catagory will be from the same country as one of the presenters. So, if a Belgian, Italian, Dane, Cambodian, or Palistinian is presenting make your pick accordingly and impress your friends. However, if Christoph Waltz and Penelope Cruz are presenting: you’re on your own.

Live Action Short Film: “Helium”

Documentary Short: “The Lady In Number 6: Music Saved My Life”

Documentary Feature: I am hoping it will be “20 Feet From Stardom.”

Animated Short Film: “Room on the Broom”

Animated Feature: “Frozen”

Production Design: Probably “The Great Gatsby,” but I am rooting for “Her.”

Cinematography: “Gravity,” but there is a miniscule chance that “Nebraska” could pull an upset due to it being in glorious black and white.

Film Editing: This is a tough one. It depends on if the voters are giving “12 Years a Slave” all the awards. I don’t think that “Captain Phillips” is getting a consolation prize. “Gravity” will most likely win, but I want “American Hustle” to come away victorious.

Adapted Screenplay: “12 Years a Slave”

Original Screenplay: “American Hustle,” but I will also be happy with “Her.”

Director: Steve McQueen. However, there are a lot of people picking Alfonso Cuaron.

Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o. I wouldn’t mind if Jennifer Lawrence won, but I would be shocked.

Supporting Actor: Remember the Golden Globes when Bradley Cooper had that look on his face that said, “I cannot believe I lost to Jordan Catalano,”? Well… Here we go again. The longshot is Barkhad Abdi.

Actress: Sandra Bullock

Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor

Picture: “12 Years a Slave”

Leave a Reply

