Aquaman “The Others”

Writer: Geoff Johns

Artists: Ivan Reis, Joe Prado

I am becoming an Aquaman fan (Aquafan?) more and more all the time. Yes, I gushed a bit over “The Trench,” but I am not the only one. I am going to try to control myself a bit more this time around, but won’t be easy.

“The Others” goes from strength to strength. “The Trench” pretty much set up the character(s) and volume 2 takes the story to the next level.

This volume sees the introduction of Aquaman’s arch enemy Black Manta into the New 52 Universe. Without spoiling anything, Black Manta is on a quest to gather artifacts from the lost city of Atlantis, and it is up to Aquaman to try and stop him, but he cannot do this alone.

Aquaman is joined by a group known as The Others, who he fought alongside in the past. There is also conflict within the group because Aquaman neglected to tell his wife, Mera about them.

Uh oh.

Needless to say, Mera is none to happy about this. It’s not good to keep secrets, but it is understandable. We all have them: good, bad, and indifferent. Some we don’t think about as secrets; we just don’t think about them at all. We see them as unimportant, so they sort of slip our mind. They are secrets of ommision as opposed to commission.

But, it’s not like these sorts of things come up in everyday conversation. Maybe we have done something in our past that we are not proud of. Maybe we dated someone we shouldn’t have. Maybe it’s not us but a relative that we sort of keep hidden away. There are many things in our lives that we actively try not to think about it is no wonder why we don’t mention them.

I am naturally a introvert. I rarely open up to even my close friends. I also tend not to ask a lot of questions because there are some things that are none of my business. I understand the value of secrets. However, if you ask me a direct question I wll not lie to you. However, I cannot guarantee that you will like the answer.

Leave a Reply

