Lookalikes

At some point in our lives most of us have gone up to a complete stranger and said, “Don’t I know you?” only to find out that it wasn’t who we thought it was. Or maybe someone has walked up to you and asked the same very same question, or a variation thereof. It is embarassing to a certain degree; if you are the one asking. And in the reverse situation I sometimes wished that I was the one they were looking for. Story of my life.

As much as we like to think we are unique snowflakes, the truth is that many of us have a doppleganger. Then there are celebrity lookalikes. Some people make a living off the fact that they resemble someone famous. Some of them hate the person they look like. Maybe it’s because the celebrity is a jerk, but often it’s nothing more than they get sick and tired of people saying, “Has anyone ever told you that you look just like ________?”

What brought all this on is that I was watching High Q today. For those of you who are not from Georgia, High Q is a quiz show for teams of high school students that is broadcast on the Atlanta ABC affiliate. Anyway, one of the students looked a lot like a young Winona Ryder. Just saying.

I guess it can be a bit of a burden to look like a famous person. It may even make you want to consider plastic surgery. If you change your hair color people, may say something like, “You look like a blonde Lucy Liu,” or whomever.

I’m sure that a lot of people would want to date you just because you look like a famous person, and that would be annoying to say the least. Even if you aren’t a fan of that particular celebrity there probably any number of people you could make jealous just by walking into a club with a celebrity ‘ganger by your side.

Sometime back in the 90s I was sitting in my car at the bank waiting on a friend, and as soon as he got back into the car a woman walked by who looked exactly like Meg Ryan. Afterwards I turned to my friend just as he said, “Yeah, she did.” So it wasn’t just me.

I once knew someone who looked a bit like Selma Blair. I never said anything about it. She had a lot of insecurities as it was, and I didn’t want to pile on.

Years ago I was sitting in a pub in Buckhead waiting for the UEFA Cup Final between Celtic and Porto to start when this dude walks in. I did a double take because he looked just like Colin Farrell. Since it was the Rose & Crown it wasn’t very crowded and he came over and sat the bar, two stools over from me.

I was sitting there thinking, “Nah, it can’t be.” And then I heard him order a pint; he spoke with an Irish accent. You have to remember at this point the only major film that Colin Farrell had been in was Minority Report and I don’t know how many of the five or six people in the pub had seen it. I didn’t want to ask him if he was who I thought he was and look like an idiot, or worse, find out it is him and for me to start acting all weird. Then again he might have said, “No, but I get that all the time.” I’ll never know.

I wish that one of my friends had been there to confirm that he at least looked like Colin Farrell. I also wish that they had been there the day I met a woman in the same pub that looked a lot like Kate Beckinsale, albeit with curly hair. Not as curly as in Van Helsing, but curly nonetheless.

If you have known me for any length of time you know that I have had a crush on Kate Beckinsale since the 90s. Cold Comfort Farm and Shooting Fish are two of my favorite films, so this moment was possibly the second biggest thing that could happen to me, next to actually meeting Kate herself.

The weird thing was I actually conversed with this woman… More than once! This is a big step for me. When I meet a woman I either go full on Raj from The Big Bang Theory–can’t speak, or I babble incoherently. Maybe the reason I could talk to her was because it was so early and I hadn’t had my coffee yet.

She had a boyfriend. Of course. He was there to watch rugby. Of course. We were from two different worlds: she was upstairs, and I downstairs. Or should I say steps? There were two between me in the bar, and her in the dining area. It had all the makings of a great British drama; except that neither of us was British. It was an British pub though. Sometimes that is all you need.

Leave a Reply

