Who Would Want To Host The Super Bowl?

When it was announced that Super Bowl XLVIII would be held in the stadium located near Exit 16W on the Jersey Turnpike a lot of peoples first thought was, “OMG! It’s going to be so cold, and there will probably be four feet of snow.” And there was those that thought it was a bad idea.

Not a lot has been made of the cold weather so far; I guess that’s because it was expected. What I have heard is some people still bitching and moaning about the two Super Bowls that were held in Atlanta. Seriously!?! Some people won’t let it go. To be fair, someone did mention that it was cold in Jacksonville when they hosted the Super Bowl. But then again there isn’t much to do in Jacksonville on the best of days.

I hope and pray that Atlanta won’t host another Super Bowl, but I’m not holding my breath since the Falcons are getting yet another new stadium. That’s all we need.

You may remember the last Super Bowl that was held in Atlanta back in 2000; that was when a man was murdered outside the Cobalt Lounge in Buckhead. You may also remember that Ray Lewis was called to testify during the trial. I don’t know what happened that night, nor am I about to speculate. All I know is that it was the beginning of the end of Buckhead.

Buckhead is located in North Atlanta and is where a lot of bars, pubs, and clubs were located; were being the operative word. I don’t want to get into racial politics or go off on an anti-rich rant, so all I’ll say is Super Bowl XXXIV and an unfortunate death was the final straw that the residents of Buckhead needed to call the party to a halt.

It took a while but they finally got rid of most of the clubs and bars. The plan is to create a shopping, residential, and workplace district similar to the one in Paris along the Champs Elysees; never mind the fact that everyone hates it and derisively refers to it as “Rue du Frommage.” Or maybe it’s just me.

This monument to rebranding has hit a small snag–a lack of funds. Some buildings, such as the apartments on Pharr Road are completed; and Fado Irish Pub, my home away from home, has been in it’s new location, next to Hermes, for quite a while. So now I can drink Guinness and shop for scarves. Yippee!

However, the buildings along Peachtree Road between East Paces Ferry and Pharr Road are gone, and all that is left is a massive hole that matches the one in my heart. Something tells me that a lot of the residents are just fine with it just the way it is.

But hey, I hear that the city is going thorough with the proposed trolley! At least we have that going for us. I still don’t know who is going to ride it or where they are going to go when they get there. All I know is that it is going to make traffic a lot worse. Maybe that’s what they want: nothing there and no way to get to it.

I’ll leave you with this: If the residents had gotten their way twenty years ago then maybe, just maybe, the Atlanta Falcons wouldn’t have traded Brett Favre to the Green Bay Packers.

Leave a Reply

