Commercial Perspective

There is a razor commercial where a Sports Illustrated swimsuit model and two women I have never heard of talk about, for lack of a better term, “manscaping.” I am a somewhat hairy guy. Then again I don’t know for sure because I don’t go around noticing that sort of thing. I see shirtless guys on TV and in movies and most of them have no hair at all, not since maybe Tom Selleck anyway. Also, most of those guys have six pack abs. That, I don’t have.

The thing is I really don’t care what any of them think about men’s body hair or lack thereof. I’m never going to date any of them anyway. I’m not saying I wouldn’t want to. Well, maybe I am.

What is is with people trying to change others? Hasn’t anyone watched Vertigo? Whatever happened to finding someone that we love for who they are? It seems like we treat people like houses–always on the lookout for a “fixer-upper.”

I am not saying I am perfect, no one is. There are some improvements that need to be made. It’s just that I don’t want to get all dressed up for a party that I wasn’t even invited to. Then again if I don’t dress up a bit no one will invite me. Basically, at any given time, I’m a shave and a shirt change from being ready to go.

Also, what if this were the other way around? What if it were a bunch of male models telling women how to um… ladyscape? That would not go over well at all. I may not know a lot about women but I do know that.

Anyway, I’m not going to change myself for someone I do not know. I spend enough time trying to be the best person I can for the people I know and care about. You know, the ones who like me for who I am.

Leave a Reply

